UGC Fake Universities/ Vishwavidyalayas Press Release

, , Leave a comment

Precautions against “Fake Universities/ Vishwavidyalayas

The mushroom growth of fake universities/vishwavidyalayas is a matter of great concern of the University Grants Commission having responsibility of maintaining standards in Higher Education in the country. It is observed that there are some institutions offering undergraduate/postgraduate courses in various subjects. These institutions are not established under either Central or State or UGC Act and hence, these institutions are fake universities/vishwavidyalayas and do not have any right to confer/grant degrees.

Aspiring students are advised not to pursue higher educational courses with such self-styled universities/ vishwavidyalayas. Presently, there are 21 such self-styled fake Universities/ Vishwavidyalayas on the records of the Commission which are functioning in contravention of the provisions of the UGC Act, 1956.


  1. Maithili University/Vishwavidyalaya, Darbhanga, Bihar
  2. Delhi

  3. Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Varanasi (UP) Jagatpuri, Delhi
  4. Commercial University Ltd., Daryaganj, Delhi
  5. United Nations University, Delhi
  6. Vocational University, Delhi
  7. ADR-Centric Juridical University, ADR House, 8J, Gopala Tower, 25 Rajendra Place, NewDelhi-110 008
  8. Indian Institute of Science and Engineering, New Delhi
  9. Karnataka

  10. Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society, Gokak, Belgaum (Karnataka)
  11. Kerala

  12. St. John’s University, Kishanattam, Kerala
  13. Madhya Pradesh

  14. Keserwani Vidyapith, Jabalpur (M.P.)
  15. Maharashtra

  16. Raja Arabic University, Nagpur
  17. Tamil Nadu

  18. D.D.B. Sanskrit University, Putur, Trichi, Tamil Nadu West Bengal
  19. Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, Kolkatta
  20. Uttar Pradesh

  21. Mahila Gram Vidyapith/ Vishwavidyalaya, (Women’s University) Prayag, Allahabad (UP)
  22. Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Prayag, Allahabad (UP)
  23. National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur
  24. Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open University), Achaltal, Aligarh (UP)
  25. Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Kosi Kalan, Mathura (UP)
  26. Maharana Partap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavidyalaya, Pratapgarh (UP)
  27. Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Institutional Area, Khoda, Makanpur, Noida Phase-ll, (UP)
  28. Gurukul Vishwavidyalaya Vrindavan, Mathura, (UP)

In case of doubt, students may checkup with the Office of the University Grants Commission, Bahadurshah Zafar Marg, New Delhi or visit UGC website (

Dr. (Mrs.) Urmila Devi
Joint Secretary (Malpractice Cell)


Leave a Reply